21st IFFK Awards

21st IFFK Awards


Festival Director and Kerala State Chalachithra Academy (KSCA) Chairperson Kamal briefing IFFK 2016 at the closing ceremony.


Minister for Cultural Affairs, Shri A. K. Balan presided over the function.


Honourable Chief Minister Shri. Pinarayi Vijayan was the chief guest of the closing ceremony.


Artistic Director (Festival) and Vice-chairperson Smt. Bina Paul moderated the announcement of awards.


Geetu Mohandas receives the NETPAC Award for the Best Malayalam Film (Kammattipaadam)

On stage: NETPAC Jury Rada Sesic, Sam Ho and Raman Chawla.


Artistic Director (Festival) and KSCA Vice-chairperson Smt. Bina Paul announcing the FIPRESCI awards in the presence of the FIPRESCI Jury, Anders E. Larsson, Salome Kikaleishvili and Dr. Shoma Chatterjee.

img_4289Director Jack Zagha receives the FIPRESCI Award for Best International Film (Warehoused), from the FIPRESCI Jury.    img_4315Vidhu Vincent receives the FIPRESCI Award for Best Malayalam Film (Manhole).   img_4343On Stage: Jury Chairman Michel Khleifi. img_4347

On Stage: From Left: Jury Chairman Micheal Khliefi, Baran Kosari, Seema Biswas, Serik Aprymov and Pedro Pimenta.


Jury Special Mention: Paolo Ballesteros (Actor) for DIE BEAUTIFUL (Dir: Jun Robles Lana).

img_4375Jury Special Mention: Ecem Uzun (Actor) for CLAIR OBSCUR (Dir. Yesim Ustaoglu)

img_4400Rajatha Chakoram for the Best Debut Director: Vidhu Vincent (Manhole).

“The jury feels the director expressed, an everyday unnoticed social issue in a simple and important, yet a powerful visual image narrative. The human and realistic story was brought to life on screen.
We find a true cinema potential in the director and look forward for her future works.”

img_4436 Rajatha Chakoram for the Best Director: Yesim Ustaoglu (Clair Obscur)

“For its subtle, but effective cinematic treatment of a global dimension across social classes from the perspective of psychological wounds affecting women.”


Suwarna Chakoram for the Best Film: Clash (Dir. Mohamed Diab)

“The Jury unanimously underlines and applauds the excellent cinematographic work, that so aptly explains the historical shock of his country and sketches a living portrait of all the socio-political currents represented by real, authentic and truly human characters.”


Audience Award: Clash (Dir. Mohamed Diab)

img_4511     img_4528

Vote of Thanks: Honourable Minister for Co-operation, Devaswom and Tourism Shri. Kadakampally Surendan.

img_4533 img_4549