24th IFFK to come to a close on Friday

The curtains will come down on the 24th International Film Festival of Kerala (IFFK) with the closing and award distribution ceremony on the night of Friday, December 13. Many acclaimed films were showcased at the festival where Lijo Jose Pelissery’s “Jallikkattu” and Krishnand R.K’s “A Minor Inconvenience” received accolades.

Chief Minister of Kerala Sri Pinarayi Vijayan will inaugurate the closing ceremony at 6PM in the Nishagandhi Auditorium. The Lifetime Achievement Award will be handed over to Argentinean filmmaker Fernando Solanas by the Chief Minister. Minister A.K Balan will preside over the ceremony while speaker Sri P. Ramakrishnan will be the Chief Guest. Opposition Leader Ramesh Chennithala, Finance Minister Thomas Isaac, Mayor K. Shrikumar, V.Shivankutty, Academy Chairman Kamal, Vice Chairperson Beena Paul, Secretary Mahesh Panchu and other prominent figures will be in attendance.

The ceremony will be followed by the screening of the film which wins in the International Competition category.

9 theatres will screen 27 films on the last day of the festival. César Diaz’ “Out Mothers”, Pema Tseden’s “Balloon” and Serbian director Vuk Rsumovic’s film “No One’s Child” are amongst the films being screened.

From December 6th onwards, over the course of eight days the festival screened a total of 186 films in different languages from over 70 countries. The film festival had different sessions like seminars, ‘Meet the Directors’, ‘Open Forums’ etc.