Capital / Mooladhanam

Capital / Mooladhanam

Dir : P. Bhaskaran / India / 159 minutes / Malayalam / 1969


Two close friends, Vijaya (Sharada) and Vatsala (Sheela) had to part ways after Vatsala’s father, a lawyer loses a case of Vijaya’s father and it results in the latter’s death. Vijaya gets married to Ramu (Prem Nazir), a trade union leader against her will. Ramu leads a union strike and is killed when the agitation turns violent. Vijaya’s life becomes miserable and she kills her starving children, but she is arrested before being able to commit suicide. In the end, she is given the death penalty by the prosecution, led by her former dear friend Vatsala, who had become a famous lawyer in the meantime.


Kerala State Film Award for Best Story

Directors Biography and Filmography:

P Bhaskaran was one of the most prolific filmmakers in Malayalam. In a career spanning more than three decades, he wrote thousands of songs, produced several books of poetry and directed more than 40 films. P. Bhaskaran’s debut as a lyricist was for a Tamil film. He wrote the Malayalam lines for a multi-lingual song in film Apurva Sahodarangal (1949). The first Malayalam film song for which he wrote lyrics was for the film Chandrika (1950). In 1954, Bhaskaran along with Ramu Kariat directed the film Neelakkuyil. The movie is regarded as ushering in social realism in Malayalam cinema. It got the President’s Silver Medal, first ever national recognition for a Malayalam film. Two years later, he made his first solo work, titled Rarichan Enna Pouran. His films Adyakiranangal (1964), Iruttinte Athmavu (1969), and Thurakkatha Vathil (1971) went on to win National Film Awards for various categories. He also directed several documentaries including the award-winning Vallathol. For his great contributions to Malayalam cinema, he was awarded J. C. Daniel Award by the Government of Kerala.


Producer – M. Azim
Scriptwriter – Thoppil Bhasi
Music – G. Devarajan
Cinematographer – P. R. Ramalingam
Editor – K. Narayanan, K. Sankunni


Prem Nazir, Sathyan, Sarada, Jayabharathi, Adoor Bhasi, Manavalan Joseph, Sankaradi, Sreelatha Namboothiri, C. A. Balan, K. P. Ummer, Kottayam Chellappan, Thankam